Tags

, , , , ,

I received my fast flyer for my Lendrum folding wheel in the mail on Saturday, along with a small needle nosed bottle of wheel oil.  I have been treadling like a mad man trying to get my singles to have enough twist at the standard flyer’s highest ratio.  The highest ratio on the standard flyer is 10:1 which was definitely not enough for a single that was 40+ WPI.  The fast flyer was my option (since deciding to get my Lendrum maxed out before considering getting a HansenCraft e-spinner, or a Spinolution Bee/Queen Bee/King Bee portable wheel).  It’s ratios are 12:1, 15:1, and 17:1.  Of course there is also the very fast flyer (which you have to change out the head for the very fast flyer head, flyer, and bobbin) which has ratios of 26:1, 30:1, 36:1, and 44:1 which I don’t really need right now (but would like in the future).  The final accessory that is by Lendrum is the Jumbo Plying head at 5:1, 7:1, and 9:1.  Honestly I don’t think I want to get this accessory just  because of how fine I do like to spin.  But instead I think I will save up for a Woolee Winder which has an impressive set of ratios at 6:1, 10:1, and 19:1 for the Lendrum (ratios depend on your wheel).  I think it would be great for plying and maybe doing a little single spinning too, but that we will have to see, since I am still enjoying the fast flyer.

I did get through the first 2 ounces of the fiber I have been spinning.  It’s Anzula Baby Camel and Merino spinning fiber and I can’t find any online shops that carry it.  I got it at a trunk show at my LYS and it’s in the Earth Colorway.  It’s soft and squishy and quite fun to spin.  I am doing it as a 2 ply fingering weight, fractal spun.  If you don’t know what fractal spinning is, it’s an interesting technique to blending the colors in hand dyed fibers with some neat effects.  It was shown in one issue of Spin Off Magazine and is show in Felicia Lo’s class on Craftsy, “Spinning Dyed Fibers.”  I think that it will be good for this yarn, though I haven’t decided if I’m going to keep it once it’s done and knit it myself, or give it away, or sell it.  I think I’ll know as soon as I start plying it, but I still have the other 2 ounces to spin.

Image

And you will be happy to know that I did get a camera, a real one, not just the one that lives in my smart phone.  It was given to me by my father, who does a bit of photography himself, so he gave me one of his, and he is getting a new one.  I’m very excited and still a little shocked that he gave me one of his.  It’s a nice camera and I have a lot to learn about it, thankfully he gave me a book to read with it so that  I can learn how to really use it.

I also received my shipment from Miss Babs yesterday which I promptly ripped open.  When I saw them online I knew I had to get them and since they are all babettes I knew if I didn’t get them I wouldn’t get them later.  One was a skein of her yummy sock yarn (I will have to check on that) which I was eyeing for a while.  The other 3 items are different kinds of her spinning fiber, which I can’t wait to try.  I’ll have pictures next time, since the lighting is not optimal for good pictures right now.

As for knitting I have been taking it fairly easy after all of the stuff that I was working on last month (if you didn’t see the picture it is in last weekends post, I think I deserved a break).  But I have been working on two new designs, one is blocking right now (it’s not 100% compete yet, I’m just making sure I like how it’s looking so far).  The other one is still being charted, but I’m hoping to have them both done soon.  When they’ll be available I am not sure, there is still a bunch to do before they’re ready to be published.  But I will keep you updated.

Here’s a teaser though, the one that is blocking is in Madelinetosh Tosh Merino Light in the color way Citrus, which is so bright and cheerful.  

