Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

I’ve never signed up for a fiber club before, but there is always a time for something new. I signed up for the Sweet Georgia Fiber club last month, not sure of what I would get out of it. I do like her yarns and fibers, have never spun or knit with either (but I do have some yarn I got for Christmas that will be some fun socks), but fiber wise I haven’t tried any of their stuff. Yes I know that a lot of fibers out there come from the same place or have similar make ups that they would spin the same or relatively However I think that when a dyer makes something it changes the original fiber or yarn and makes it more their own. It has it’s own feel to it that only that dyer made it feel like. This all sounds silly, but for me that is how it works.

I got my first shipment in the mail yesterday and I was surprised what I saw. I am, in general, not someone who would pick oranges or yellows, but this one I didn’t have a choice. I’m actually very glad that I didn’t have a choice because it’s gorgeous, the colorway is called Night Owl. It’s in her BFL and silk fiber and has these deep purples, blues, spots of cream, and yellow. I’m thinking that it will be the next thing that goes on my wheel (but that has a catch).

20140115-143045.jpg

The catch is that my wheel for some reason is not happy with me still. I have oiled it, cleaned it, replaced the drive band, and the brake band, but still it’s unhappy. The upper part of the wheel shakes when I use it and I could never figure out why. I took it all apart last night and watched just the main wheel spin by itself. I sat there for five minutes just watching it until I thought I saw something. A ever so slight wobble of the wheel, I don’t know if it’s because the wheel warped, or got out of align after a lot of use, but it’s there. Also the bobbin I’m using right now to spin the PigeonRoof Studios Superwash Merino is not completely balanced either, making the shake more prominent. Other bobbins are fine, it’s just this one, or so I thought.

After seeing this I put the wheel back together, making sure to re-oil it, and decided to see if the shake was still there. After the cleaning, re-oiling, panicking, worrying, and setting it back up, it’s not as bad. I don’t get it, for some reason it’s not as bad (though my treadles still squeak no matter how much oil you use, how often, or whatever), and I don’t know if it’s just my wheel messing with me or what. All I know is that I’m going to have to revisit getting another wheel. I know I didn’t want to do it and I know that it’s going to be another investment, but it will be worth it. I’m revisiting getting a hansen e-spinner.

Please don’t get me wrong, I love my wheel, I’ve had no problems in the 4-5 years I’ve owned it. It’s been a fantastic wheel, but I think it also just wants a break, another wheel to help ease the load of spinning.

I need to get this fiber on my wheel done and plied so I can get the new fiber on and spun up. I’m still so infatuated with the colors, maybe I should start re-visiting yellows (maybe oranges too).

