Tags

, , , , , ,

So let me just say that I should have realized I was a little nuts coming up with the idea to knit through Knit Sock Love. Ipthat doesn’t mean I’m not doing it, it just means I need to buy more semi-solid or solid yarn. I looked through my stash and I realized that I don’t have enough of that kind of yarn that isn’t already for a project or two. So I looked at my LYS and I went through the sock yarn isle (yes my LYS organizes everything by yarn weight, as in fingering, sport, dk, etc) and I saw some SweetGeorgia BFL sock yarn.  I have never worked with that base from her before, nor have I really used BFL sock yarn that much.  I came away with two skeins of the BFL sock one in Cayene and one in Riptide.  Cayene is this deep, brownish, reddish, orange that I’m really liking.  It’s something unexpected for me, since oranges are usually out of my color palette.  But this orange is just different enough that I can actually wear it, though it won’t be near my face.  The Riptide is such a stunning darker turquoise that I think I know which pattern it will be first, but I’ll have to think about it more and come back to that.

I did pick up some Madelinetosh Silk Lace in Terrarium and it practically screams Romi Hill Lace Shawl.  I did sign up for her Pins and Laces Shawl Club this year, I did it in 2012 and was very happy with it.  I’m waiting to see what the first shawl is like this year and it might have to be out of this silk.  Though I had the insane notion to spin some silk lace weight and knit a shawl out of it.  I promptly dismissed it, since my time is going to be more limited coming up so I don’t be able to do as much.

20140122-150741.jpg

I really haven’t been knitting that much, mostly have been spinning.  However I am going to be knitting a pair of  <a href=”http://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/how-cold-is-it”>How Cold is it?</a> for a friend of mine.  Be warned click on the link at your own risk, these mittens are a little explicit.  I’m going to be knitting them out of some Cascade Heritage Silk, which I think will be lovely.  They have a “deadline” of before February 2nd, which is when she would like them by.  Which I think that’s doable, I love stranded knitting, it’s one of my favorite kinds of knitting.  I just can’t get enough of it.

