Tags

, , , , , , ,

It’s impossible to remember everything that we have, purchased, gifted, gotten, etc, there is no way for us to remember everything. Knowing this, while cleaning today I went deep into the stash and found some yarn and fiber I completely forgot about.  Now I knew my stash was getting pretty big, but I had no idea that it was as big as it was. It’s kind of like in the last 2-3 years my stash was the plant from Little Shop of Horrors (if you don’t know the reference at all you need to go see it, even though live is better a movie would do too). 

A rough estimate is that I have enough yarn to keep me knitting at the rate I’m going for the next 5 or so years.  That kind of scares me, I didn’t realize it had grown to the epic proportions that it is currently at. Don’t get me wrong at all, I really do like all of the yarn that I have (there is some that I might need to get rid of just because I don’t knit with that kind of yarn anymore) but for the most part I like my stash. I have a lot of nice commercial, but primarily hand dyed yarns in stash. But since I live in California and space is at a premium in the area that I live in, but not only that I would like to be able to use what I have and enjoy what I have. On a side note I have no idea what is going on with our weather, but yesterday it was 79 degrees, and today its not that warm compared.

What I’m thinking of doing might sound a little drastic and somewhat familiar if any of you listen to the KnitMore Girls Podcast, if you don’t I would define toy give them a listen because the mother daughter duo is fanstastic, not to mention they are extremely nice on air and in person. But what I’m going to do is know to them as the Social Pressure Experiment, I’m going to add my own twist to it though. If you are not familiar with what the SPE is, it’s basically a way to get you to use what you have in stash and and enjoy what you have. But not only that but to get you to really think about buying anything, evaluating if you actually need it, and such. I know I have other things I will be needing to get in the future and yarn right now is at a very good level I can knit only from stash. What I will be doing to modify this experiment is that, with the KnitMore SPE if you bought anything you would have to give up something of equivalent yardage or weight. But I think for me that is not enough, what I’m going to do is that I will be doing it as follows:

– if I buy yarn I have to give up double the yardage from my stash, or double of the equivalent (for example if I buy 2 skeins of Madelinetosh sock, I have to give up either 2 skeins of the same yarn from stash or about 770-800 yards of yarn)
– spinning fiber too
– if I complete projects with yarn from stash I can buy new yarn, but only 1/2 of the yardage of what was completed
– same with spinning fiber

This is not meant to be sadistic, though some would argue that that’s what I’m doing, it’s not. I want to use what I have and actually work on some of the design I have yarn for, but get forgotten or buried. I know I have a lot of designs that are waiting to have their shinning moment they come to life and if I keep getting more and more yarn I’m not going to knit them. That and I have some pretty nice yarn and fiber that I really need to work with.

I’m wondering though, I have a design idea that I really like the idea and I’m wondering if I have the right color of yarn in the right quantity, should that count towards the same rule? Maybe if I have a special rule for designs that have a firm design ready and just need to be cast on and knit. And if I don’t complete it within 3 months of purchasing the yarn then I have to follow the standard rule?

Who thinks I’m a little nuts? Is there anyone who wants to do this too? I’m going to think this over for a few days and really think about doing it. Hopefully I’ll finish this cardigan finally so I can “wear” it in the nice 70 degree weather we are having this week. But it’s going to need buttons soon, so that might be next to purchase. After that I think some new designs will be worked on.

