Tags

, , , ,

The first thing I always think about is what knitting am I brining. It’s something that all of us face. I think about it, go through my queue, stash, design ideas, and still I find it difficult to figure out what I want to bring. So many things that I want to bring with me but some if them aren’t conducive to traveling at all. I have shawls I want to knit, but lace or beads probably not a good idea. That sweater that needs just sleeves, yeah you could but you have to bring so many balls of yarn for that. Or what about that design I have been working of or the past year, probably not, you shouldn’t need to think while on vacation like that.

So there enters that age old question for traveling with your knitting, what should I bring? So I went again through the stash and looked and remember that yarn I got a few weeks back, I figured skews would be a good idea since they’re fairly straight forward and they’re quite fast too. Not so fast that it wouldn’t keep me for a few days but not so slow that if they weren’t close to being done when I come back that I wouldn’t pick them up again. So those got cast on and I’m pleased how they’re going.

20140718-065341-24821098.jpg

I also found a pattern that I wanted to do but just needed to find the right yarn. So in stash I pulled out yarn I bought the last time I was in Portland, so Madelinetosh Merino Light in Terre Verte. It’s becoming an iron maiden, and it’s quiet fun to knit so far.

It’s now day 3 of the trip and I have been doing some knitting, but there’s too much to do and not enough time. I’ll be happy to have a sock and a 1/4 of as shawl.

