Tags

You know when you just feel so clever and so sneaky?  I’ve had one of those feelings very recently. I haven’t been able to post this till now and this is what I have been working on primarily. So now that it’s no longer a sneaky thing, let’s have some knitting to talk about.

About 2 years ago one of the knitters I know had a birthday, she loved one of the yarns the LYS got in, but was being good and didn’t buy it. Another knitter looked at me and we made a sneaky deal, she buys the yarn and I would knit a pair of socks. The deal was made, the yarn purchased sneakily, and the recipient didn’t know this went on. She didn’t know until she was presented with the gift of a skein of yarn and a this will be knit into whatever sock you want. She excitedly chose a pair of skews, that I knitted like a fiend on, due tot the fact that they knit up pretty quickly, and I gave them back to her.

Now fast forward 2 years and those socks are faded and well loved, but I thought it would be a good time to replace them since she will be moving for a little while to a different part of the world. So again I made a sneaky plan, with the help from the staff at the LYS. I grabbed the yarn for the socks and had them out it behind the counter. We looked like we were talking but really she was ringing me up and then after I went over with a project bag to show her what I was working on and to get the yarn secretly over to my bag so the recipient wouldn’t see.

I cast on and knit on them as much as I could, having school and work the amount of time that I knit was extremely limited but I pushed through it. And then it was Friday, the last day I would see her in a while. The socks were almost done. I just had the short rows at the top of he sock to complete along with the ribbing. At lunch I showed her the socks that she knew she was getting and then I pulled out the secret pair. She was surprised and said I thought you were making those for yourself. I told her nope, I wanted to replace the other ones that you have almost worn out.

We all went back to the yarn shop and I finished the socks and fixed a mistake I made in the other pair.
The ones that she expected were the Skew Socks that are quite interesting to knit and the first of the socks from the book that I decided to knit. The yarn she gave me to knit then out of was Canon Hand Dyes in the color Cheshire Cat.

image

image

The other socks that I made are one if my favorites to knit Skew socks. The yarn I used was Madelinetosh Tosh Sock in Birthday Cake. They are vibrant and colorful, I have a second skein for me cause I want socks out of it.

image

image

She is now in new Zealand and we are all sad to have her not here but it will bd good for her. And now she has a total of 4 pairs of socks that I knit for her. So she should be set for a bit longer.

