Tags

, , , , ,

Everything is going by so quickly here, that happens I suppose when you are as busy as I am. It feels like yesterday was still summer and school was just about to start again. It’s now nearing the end of November and time has slipped away from me. My knitting has had something like that happen to it as well. If you haven’t seen my last post, I was knitting the newest Stephen West mystery and I was starting clue 4 and really looked at my colors against the pictures he posted of his. I really didn’t like how my colors were trying so hard not to look bad together, but they failed. I still haven’t ripped it out yet, but it’s on the list of things that I need to do. It’s going to have a lot of knots in all 4 skeins, but that’s the price I pay for not stopping sooner.

On a happier note, I have been pulling out some of the design yarn. No I don’t have any hints for anyone, but I’m able to get some of my designs up and running again. Currently swatches are all that I have going on some of them, but that’s the start I need to get me putting up more designs. Some of these I can’t wait for you all to see when they’re done. I have models lined up for some of them and the one I’m currently working on swatching, I can’t wait for the final product. I think that it will be quite spectacular, if I do say so myself.

I promised pictures of something that I purchased didn’t I? Sari is such an amazing pattern, ever since I saw it I thought it was beautiful, but when someone at my LYS brought hers in (done in miss babs) I knew I had to make it. But I had to find the right yarn to knit this spectacular design in. I saw on the pattern page that it was made with Color Shift Shift Yarn and I just had to take a look at the yarn. I went over to their Etsy shop and I knew that was the only yarn that I wanted to make Sari out of. Two of my friends at the LYS bought their own custom kits from the shop, but I wasn’t sure what I wanted to do. I decided I wanted the colors as it came, red is one of my favorite colors. I placed my order, thought I wouldn’t see it for a little bit, since she does say in the The kit’s description that it will take 6-8 weeks to dye and ship. I don’t know what happened, but about a week after my order I got the confirmation that it was being shipped.

It arrived and what the box contained I thought I was prepared for. The yarn was stunning, beautifully packaged, and the smallest details were thought of. There are no words to describe the beauty that the boxed held, but maybe a picture can help with that.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

You can tell how much the dyer cares about what she does and the talent she has in order to dye colors that are so perfect. The shift from one color bridge to the other, is just about unnoticeable, there is no abrupt jog, just a smooth transition. Each bridge and color progression is labeled to what colors they contain, yardage, etc. There’s even a page that is included with some information from the dyer, care instructions, and all. I have not seen this level of dedication and attention to detail in yarn, it’s incredible. I told the dyer this and that I want to design something with her yarn in the future, I just need to figure out what to do in order to do justice to her yarn.

For now I will be knitting that swatch, with the kit sitting close to me, wanting me to start it. That will have to wait till I’m done with school for the semester, and then a knit against will begin.

