Tags

, , , , ,

Now that my brain has had a chance to recharge and get off it’s emergency supply, I’m now able to do more knitting.  Well there are a lot of things that I wanted to do but time was only one of the restraints.  There is something about the ability to have your brain running on more then back up supply that just makes me feel better.  One of the next things that I’m going to start is Sari, you know that kit that I bought from Color Shift Yarn.  I am so excited to start it, but not only that I have a few other things that I will be starting up in the next week or so. I have to check with the other two that bought the kits because we might get started on another knit against, which will not be as competitive, cause we want to enjoy the knitting. There is only one thing that I don’t like is that there was a lot of winding. Lots and lots of it, not that I don’t mind winding yarn, just wanted to start right away, but I knew I had to do my do diligence.

Honestly I am glad that the holidays are coming to a close, even though I love the spending time with family, I don’t tlike the crazier driving, everywehere being super crowded, and the fear of leaving the house for anything. But I will say all in all it was a good holiday, when we focus on what matters, which for me is spending time with family. I did give one knitted gift this year, which went to my mom. You all probably know what it is by now, in case not, it’s the color craving shawl. She saw the one last year I made for myself and she wanted it. I made her one in more of her own color palette.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The yarn that I used was Madelinetosh Tosh Merino Light in Whiskers, Grey Gardens, and Whiskey Barrel.

Now Sari yarn wound, needles at the ready I cast on, on this epic voyage. This pattern has lace, fair isle, intarsia, and lots of color changes. I’m in the groove of it, the colors make me so happy I just can’t describe. I am hoping to have this done before Stitches West. I will say you do need to get into the swing of things when doing this pattern, but once you get the hang of it, it’s becomes way more manageable. There is just one problem, you should always make sure to grab the right color.

There seems to be a problem with my thining ability lately, regardeless of if I’m in my semester or not.  I found that when I’m in the semester with so many classes and so little time for anything, I have to turn on the reserve power so I can get through the semester.  Unfortunately I think that there is a point when I have to turn that on when it’s getting late and I’m working on a complicated project. You would think that there would be no way to mess up a clearly labeled yarn progression, making sure that you get the right colors when you need them. Well you would be for the most part correct but therer is that problem in which you aren’t fully there at that moment. I thought when I labled all of the yarn for Sari that I was out smarting the knitting fates, but that is not the case.

I finished a repeat of Sari, in which I was ready for the next main color (keep in mind there are 16 or 18 main colors), so I reached into the bag ready to grab the next color, which I made sure I grabbed 2.3 (my numbering system). The next morning I was having my coffee, getting ready to start my day with knitting like I do. I thought to myself that I should probably check to make sure I grabbed everthing correctly, but I thought well I coudln’t have grabbed the wrong colors, so I started my knitting groove. I went to knitting group and was knitting away, enabling someone else into joining knitting the Sari. I told her to make sure to label clearly and looked at my label and realized that I made a mistake, I grabbed the right number, wrong color. I grabbed copper 2.3 instead of burgundy 2.3. So I had to take out the bit that I had done, thankfully I caught before I had gotten too far into the repeat or shawl.

It’s crusing now, I’m hoping to have it done for Stitches West.  Pictures of progress coming soon

