Tags

, , , ,

There is a lot of things that you have to resist when you are on the social pressure experiment. You have to resist looking at yarn, because there might be one that just says “look at me, you know you want to come closer and pick me up.”  If you can resist looking at them then you are in perfect shape.  You can let it be and not have to be tempted even further, being able to keep going and looking at your stash being satisfied.

But if you can’t resist the calling of the yarn, you get closer and closer to it.  Then you make the mistake of picking it up and feeling it.  Something about it makes it even better, the touch makes it even more intoxicating.  You then get really interested in it, but you know you should put it down and you should get away from it as fast as you can.  But then it says something to you again, “please take me home with you, I don’t want to be left alone again.”  Then you get even more entranced by it, by it’s siren song telling you what it could be turned into.  Socks, sweaters, mittens, hats, shawls, the possibilities become endless.

Here is a part that becomes really hard, whether you are strong and put it down, tuning into the channels of reason and keeping with the experiment.  Or you become weak and buy the yarn and have to either put it against yardage you earned or just have to take the punishment according to the rules.

I was weak, you know that Casbah that I bought in the last post?  Yeah that’s another thing that I found that I fell to again.  4 skeins of it, with some more on the way.  I know what you’re thinking, you should have been good with the social pressure experiment.  I understand that, but I will be future dating a project or two to make sure that it covers it.  On top of that, it’s going to be the next sweater that I work on.  I think it’s going to be a great light weight sweater, especially for a trip that I’m going to be going on later on this year.  And the color looks really good on me, the color being Nori (which is Japanese for seaweed), it’s this black color with undertones of green poking out, just like Nori.

Photo Credit to EatSleepKnit.

I’m going to have to knit really quickly now in order to get the yardage for this project. You’ll get to see something that I cast on recently that will also give me a bit of yardage when it’s done.

For now I’m just going to have to be knitting up a storm while studying like a hurricane.  Lets just see how well that actually works out.

