Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

If you read the last post then you probably have some idea to what this post is about, if you haven’t then let me fill you in a little bit.  I’m on the social pressure experiment, which is a way to help me use my stash before buying anything new.  This is achieved by finishing items and getting yardage (or ounces/grams for fiber) back that I can use on future purchases.  There is a more detail list of rules and regulations, reference this link which details this a bit more.

Well knowing that I recently kind of had to make a future dating of yardage for a project to help pay for the yarn I bought, I had to finish something and use up a bit of yardage.  Well I am working on Ivar still, but it’s not that interesting right now, it’s just plain stockinette sleeve.  Even though it’s great when I don’t have a lot of brain power, but not great when my brain is actually firing on more then one cylinder.  The project that I cast on, isn’t that interested in the knitting portion, but in the colors it makes it a lot more interesting.  This pattern a few of my friends have been knitting them and I have found that I have come quite smitten with the pattern.  I’m not sure what possessed me to pull out the Tosh stash, but I did.  I was pulling color after color, till I found 5 colors that went well together.

That pattern that I choose is called Samen, which requires 5 colors or lace weight or fingering weight yarn held double.  It has a really interesting marbling/mixing of colors that you just have to get right otherwise you might end up with mud.  Unless that’s something that you’re looking for, then go for it.  For me that’s not something that I wanted, so I made sure all 5 colors would be good together.  The colors I chose were Mineral, Envy, Nebula, Fathom, and Thunderstorm, in that order.  So far it’s going really well, which usually things like this are pretty quick in the beginning and then they get longer and longer.  I really do like how things is coming along.  I’m about 2.5 sections away from being done with it which means I get a bit of yardage.

I’m going to have to start thinking about what I’m going to start next.  I’m thinking something that uses a lot of charts, lace yarn, and beads.  But for now, here is a quick shot of the progress.

2015-02-06 14.31.49

