Tags

,

Every February Stitches West rolls around and I get excited, wondering what it’s going to be like, what’s going to happen, what I’m going to buy, etc.  I have not missed a Stitches West since my first one in 2006.  This year I got sick a few days before Friday, I remember being sick last year 2-3 weeks before Stitches and was glad that it got out of my system before.  But this year, I rested all the way up to Stitches and the day of I still wasn’t 100% but well enough to go just for a little bit and enjoy.  I did rock my Sari through the market place and got lots of looks, a few people talked to me about it, and I had Galina stop me and talk to me about it.

I got to see everything that I wanted to see, though I did forget to finally say hi to my favorite lace designer (Romi Hill).  But all in all it was a good show, at the end of my short time there I was ready to go.  What did I buy you’re probably wondering, I can say this with great pride, I walked out of Stitches West without buying… anything.  I know that sounds insane, all of that great fiber, all that yarn, and I didn’t buy anything.  I think the fact that I looked through my tosh bin the day prior and that morning I look at the stash and remembered all of the yarn that I bought last year and still haven’t used.  I had to be realistic, there were things that I wanted to buy yes, but it just lost it’s ability to tempt me.  Maybe it was the slight congestion in my head, maybe the DayQuil, but I walked away without anything.  I did talk to one of the Purlescence girls about the Schact Flip Loom, (at the very end of my short time there) and I decided that I would actually visit their shop when Stitches was over.  That would be give me more time to think about the loom, after seeing it in person and making sure my information about it was correct.  Not only that but I didn’t have to bring it home that day, I don’t need it right away, and I should actually see their new shop.  I haven’t been there in a while.  So that will be later this week I’m thinking, maybe Wednesday since I have a short school day that day.

