Tags

,

You may or may not recall that there is an older loom that was purchased years ago that I have been learning on, determining if I liked weaving and wanted to invest in a better loom.  I haven’t really been using that loom that often and I was wondering why that is.  It could be that there are so many things that I want to knit and not to mention design that I didn’t have enough time to do both.  No that wasn’t it, I really like woven fabric a lot, always have, and then I looked at the loom.  I don’t like how it’s constructed, it moves funny when being used and the reed is only a 8 dent.  If I was going to be weaving more I know I want a 10 or 12 dent reed, which would allow me to use more of my stash, because a good chunk of it is fingering weight (yes a good chunk of that is Madelinetosh).

At Stitches I knew the one thing that I was willing to buy, I did my research, but I knew I wanted to see it in person.  When that day arrived I visited the Purlescence booth, but I was not feeling the best at the end and so I asked a few questions, stared at the loom longingly and decided that it would be better for me to think about it.  I decided right then and there that I would go visit their shop (which is pretty close to me and I haven’t been there since 2008…oops).   A few times during the weekend I was thinking about just going back to Stitches and picking one up, but I decided it would be better to go and do it in person. So I took a break from homework and traveled up to the shop.

I always forget how close things actually can be around here, I’m usually driving right past places I would normally go to when I go to work, school, etc. The shop is just getting back together after stitches west and I completely forgot how much amazing stuff they have. Looms, spinning wheels, fiber, yarn, books, tools, everything you could want. And they are amazingly nice, I was talking to them for a while, looking around glad that I am on the social pressure experiment cause I would have come home with more. I ended up getting the 25″ Schact Flip loom, which I’m so far supper happy with. I got it home, got it out of its packaging, and I hadn’t had it for more then 2 hours and it was already warped and ready to go.

2015-02-26 16.53.13

Here is just a teaser of what I worked on.  More details later.

