Tags

, , , ,

There is such an interesting feeling when you’re getting ready to knit a new project.  When you have the yarn and needles in your hand, getting ready to make sure everything is correct.  Make sure you have gauge, that the fabric is pleasing, that the color and the pattern play nicely, etc.  It’s kind of a voyage that you have to go on, especially for garments.  Lets be honest, for things like shawls I really don’t swatch, because I know how my gauge works with general weights of yarn and the appropriate needles.  But sweaters, cardigans, coats, anything big that is going to take you a lot of time to make I definitely swatch.  Now that Redford is done being knit (besides the sleeve to be sewn in and the ends and the blocking) I needed to start the new sweater.  If I want to get it done in time for the trip I nee to boogy on it.

So I pulled out the pattern, cast on, and started the journey with it.  I knit on it, looked at it, kept knitting, and looked at it again.  I was not happy how it was looking in the yarn that I chose.  I felt that the fabric was not pleasing to me and the color might be too dark for the pattern.  I decided that I should keep knitting, just to make sure I wasn’t being overly silly.  I checked gauge, it was spot on for the pattern before blocking.  So I bound it off and gave it a bath.  Put it out to dry and I still don’t like it. I wanted to make a nice cabled sweater with it, but I don’t think that it’s going to work out with the yarn.d  I might try a different pattern to see if that pattern shows up any better, otherwise I have to go to the back up of the more plain sweater.  Or that other one that really would look dashing in this yarn.  But see for yourself, it’s just not a match in heaven.  The swatch is darker in person, there is only so much you can do in post processing.  The yarn is Brooklyn Tweed Shelter in Almanac.

So while I need to think about a few things, I cast on my Viajante.  I’m quite pleased with it so far.  I have a long, long way to go.

