Tags

, , , , , , ,

This has been a long time coming, due to my forgetfulness, and how things are picking up again this post was delayed.  Now things are going to get even busier, school has started up which means my time went from available to deficit.  The good side is that it will only be for 3.5 months or so, time should fly. Knitting time will be limited, but I’m going to try to get through as much as I can in the time that I have.
I do have a finished Rockefeller to show off. I ran out of yarn twice. Once when I was on my way home from London, I ran it of the CC. Then when I was back I ran out of the main, both running out on the second wing. The main color ran out about 4 inches from the end, so I got some donated by a friend and it’s done. It’s blocked, not aggressively but it’s blocked. I didn’t want to block it too much because I know that the yarn that I used would grow quite a bit.  That yarn that I used is my new favorite yarn base, Madelinetosh Twist Light.  I can’t wax poetically enough about it, it’s the right thickness, takes the colors really well, feels really good to work with, and it’s a good price for yardage.

That ties into what happened a 2 Friday’s ago, my LYS got in a new shipment of that yarn in some striking colors.  I knew I have a lot of yarn, that I just got yarn on my trip (as restrained as I was), and that I need to work on cutting down the stash (social pressure and all).  But I found a combination that I just couldn’t pass up on, something that I think will make you all question my sanity, or that I can actually still see colors after it.  The sanity check had to happen especially after I figured out what pattern that I wanted to knit again with it.  I’m making another Rockefeller, yes this will be my third.  The colors that I chose are Vishnu, Cosmic Wonder Dust, and Edison Bulb.  Yes that is a bright combination and it seems like something Stephen West would have chosen, but I like it.  I wanted something really bright and I got it.  Right now I’m on the third section and I forgot how much garter this is.  But I need that with how little brain power I’m going to be having this semester.

IMG_0628

And finally I had a birthday this month, which isn’t a big deal, but for my LYS they give you a special birthday discount, so I had to get something.  I looked every day that I was there, brought things back to the table to look at while knitting, putting them back when I left.  I kept pulling out the same things and I knew that this wasn’t just a quick infatuation with the yarn, it’s yarn that was destined to be mine.  Again you might question my sanity, but I think this will be fun to knit (and use).  I got 2 skeins of the Malabrigo Lace in this beautiful purple that I’m going to make a Banana Leaf out of (the color is great for me), 2 skeins of the Sweet Georgia Trinity in a nice grey that will be the Suke-Suke Cowl (wedding gift), and 3 skeins of Madelinetosh Sport.  Those 3 skeins are in a white (can’t remember the name right now) and Fluro Rose, which are destined to become a pair of sports hot pants (yes another Stephen West).  All of my knitting friends say I have to model them once they’re done and yes I will have photos of them on me when they’re done.  I think they are going to have a kick out of it, after their eyes are done burning from the intense color that I chose.

