Tags

, , , , , , , ,

They knew that their time would come, that they would be put into the running, but didn’t know it would be this soon.  As I dug around the bin, they all stopped speaking, they all just sat there as one by one they were pulled out.  With each selection the rest became a little more relaxed, but still nervous to see if they were going to be pulled next.  One by one the 12 selections were made, each different then the next.  Finally all 12 were chosen, the rest let out a sigh of relief, the 12 knew they were going to have a long road ahead of them.

 

If you don’t recognize that book/movie reference (I read the books first, highly recommended) then that bit of cleverness has been lost on you.  I’m actually talking about the Spin the Bin challenge, which I spoke of last time.  I had to go through the fiber stash bin in order to choose the 12 fibers that I wanted to spin.  If you’re not familiar with Spin the Bin, it was first introduced to me last year or the year prior by one of my knitting friends.  She told me about it then and I thought it was a bit crazy, but now looking at the stash I realized it was brilliant.  You have between Dec 20, 2015-Dec 31, 2016 to spin all the fiber selected, which has to be at least 2 ounces and 12 different bundles.  You can of course do more then that, but for me I knew the 12 would be a challenge.  You also have to take a picture of all of the fiber and post it to the group with all of the selections that you made.  There are some other rules and such, like if you don’t finish, what you have left is going to be sold or given away.  I’m not going to do that personally, but I will be modifying the other option.  You can switch the fiber of one without penalty and after that you have to put back in double.  For me the second part will be the same, but the first will be you may remove or substitute one without penalty.  Since my fiber stash is not that large it wouldn’t hurt me to do either.

 

You must be curious to see what I chose, well not all of this is on Revelry, but here it is.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

It’s just so fluffy!  Alright lets break it down.

  1.  Abstract Fiber Mixed Merino Silk, Colorway: Laurelhurst, 4 ounces
  2. Abstract Fiber Mixed Merino Silk, Colorway: Shady Glade, 4 ounces
  3. Shaky K Fibers, Merino Top, Colorway: Electric Green, 4 Ounces
  4. Malabrigo Nube, Colorway: Solis, 8 Ounces
  5. Pigeonroof Studios Superwash Merino, Colorway: Blackeyed Susan, 4 ounces (Spinion [spinning minion] project)
  6. Lisa Souza Zen Top, Colorway: Flahriduh, 4 Ounces
  7. Sweet Georgia Merino Bamboo Silk, Colorway: Love Letters, 4 Ounces (Club color 2014, most likely going to be gifted)
  8. RedFish Dyeworks MYS, Colorway: Unknown (it’s shades of browns, red/rogance browns, tans), 4 ounces
  9. Miss Babs Merino Tussah, Colorway: Monster Mash, 4 ounces
  10. Miss Babs Merino Bamboo Tussah, Colorway: Shaken not Stirred, 4 ounces
  11. Greenwood FiberWorks Superwash Merino Nylon, Colorway: Earthen Hues, 4 ounces
  12. Greenwood FiberWorks Superwash Merino Nylon, Colorway: Cider House, 4 Ounces

 

And that’s it, that’s all of the fiber that I chose for Spin the Bin.  I think ti’s going to be interesting to see what they all come out to be, that is if I can finish them all.  I’m currently trying to get the fiber that is on my wheel off ASAP so I can get started with this. I’m not going to go in order of the list above, it’s going to be whatever I feel like that time and what I grab.  I’m thinking of starting with the largest amount of fiber, which would be the Malabrigo.  What it’s going to be when it’s yarn I’m not sure.  2 ply or 3 ply, not sure yet, all I know it’s going to be fingering weight, as most of these will be.  In the mean time I better get back to the wheel, I have about an ounce left to spin on that fiber.  It’s also GreenWood FiberWorks, but in a merino silk, in super bright colors.  It’s also super, super thin so I might need to weave it.

 

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

