Tags

,

Everyone is going to be so shocked that I still can’t read a pattern. Don’t get me wrong I can read just fine. I can write a pattern just fine, but for he life of me sometimes I just can’t read a pattern. After the design project that I finished I needed something that was a quick knit in the interim between this design and the next. I decided to knit on a hat, nothing too fancy, just something out of worsted weight.  I also needed a gift so I timed everything just right, or as right as I could. I browsed through Ravelry and looked at all of the hats in my queue that met the criteria and found some Brooklyn Tweed patterns. Crag was in that list, was the right style, weight of yarn, complexity.  It just seemed like it was meant to be.

 
So I cast on, but no this is not the I can’t read pattern. For some reason I could read this pattern too well. I saw that the ribbing wasn’t matching up with the stitch pattern, which is how it’s written. I’m not a fan of that kind of thing and some math later I decided I’ll make that hat for me, but adjust the numbers to make it more OCD friendly. Then I did the search again and found another pattern.  I checked the pattern before casting on, yes the ribbing would match up rather well with the main pattern.  I cast on my stitches, dutifully did my 2.5″ of half twisted ribbing (not the most enjoyable thing) and put it on.  It felt a little snug but not bad, I like having a semi snug hat.  So I pressed on and then came a warning sign.  I noticed that my patterning was off, so I checked and the stitch pattern was in multiples of 6.  I had not cast on the right number, so I counted and checked the pattern.  I stared at the page for a bit and had to put my face down onto the table.  This was at knit night mind you, so I was very much surrounded by the right people.  The kinds of people that would feel your pain.  I wasn’t just 2 stitches off, oh no add a 0 to the end of it. 20, yes I was off by 20 stitches.

 

Then came denial, I told myself that I’m not going to rip this hat attempt out again for the 3rd time (2x were for the first pattern, when I thought it was me).  So I pressed on knitting and knitting, thinking blocking would take care of everything.  I was about 0.5″ away from the crown decreases, put the hat on, and I knew I made a mistake.  Yes I know I made the mistake before when I didn’t cast on the right number of stitches.  I mean my deliberate decision to ignore better judgement and rip out 6 days ago.  So that’s exactly what I did, Tuesday I ripped out the hat, rewound the ball, and put it into its bag.  It wasn’t until the next morning that I decided that I should pick it up again, so I cast on and it’s going very smoothly now.  I’m at the same point I was a few days ago, but with the right number of stitches this time.  I might be able to finish it tonight, to get it to block tonight too.  Oh I almost forgot this yarn I’m using, it’s Plucky Bello Worsted, color is Strut Your Stuff.  Photos to come soon. 

 

On a different note, I’m 3/4 of the way done with my final exams.  One more tomorrow and I’ll be done.  I might write up that new pattern that I finished last week, get some of it done at least tonight.  Or maybe not, I’m thinking I just want to sleep.  I wonder if I can knit cables and sleep at the same time.  Wouldn’t that be a great skill…

