Tags

, , , , , , ,

I have to admit that I have not been using the sock machine that much. I did pull it out about a week ago to dust it off, give it a little oil, and see how well it’s working. Working well still, with all of the idiosyncrasies that I remember. But that’s not what Ive been working on, I’ve been weaving. I have not forgotten my loom, but it’s been a while since I picked it up. So I folded it open yesterday, got aquatinted with the pattern again, and started cruising. It’s not a hard pattern to follow, it’s a pick up stick pattern. So every 6 throws I have to change the pick up stick. Which can be the most time consuming part, but I’ve gotten into the rhythm of it (for the life of me I couldn’t spell rhythm, I spell better in French, go figure).  Side note yes English is my first language, but it’s not my best sometimes.

 
Let’s not get too sidetracked, back to the loom. It’s going pretty well, I was able to do about 12 inches yesterday, in between breaks and trying to stay cool. It’s been pretty warm this week, in the 90s but then it drops to the 60s the next day. This weather is strange and makes fiber crafting harder for me. But I persevere and keep going, but weaving isn’t the only thing I’ve been working on. I’ve been knitting on my On the Spice Market. I’m in the second section where you have little blips of the contrast colors. The contrast rows are a little slow in comparison to the main color rows, but it’s going along. I started the third contrast color two nights ago and am about 3/4 the way through with this color.  Then I get to keep going with the next 3 colors in the same section and the final section with all seven colors.  Yes this project is going to have a lot of ends to weave in, I think I better get a head start on that.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

And just a quick design update, the new pattern is to my test knitters right now.  I am excited to see what they come up with.  I know one of them is knitting it in silk, which I think will be perfect.  So that is going along quite smoothly, I’m hoping to have it ready for mid summer launch, but we will have to wait and see how things go.  And the brand new design I’m still working on, has a lot of math.  Let me just say this is making my mind melt a little bit.  I don’t know if most people know how much work designers put into making sure they think of every last detail of a pattern.  Ensuring this line up, you have the right numbers, and everything is as perfect as they can humanly get it.  Or maybe that just how I like to make my patterns.  In any case, this is going to take me some time to get all of the math out of the way, but I will say that it’s going to be awesome.  I might have said that already, but I’ll say it again, it’s going to be awesome!

