Tags

, , ,

I know, I know I said that I would be posting more.  Even though I have a lot more time, time has seemed to slip by me really quickly.  The holidays were quite enjoyable for me, seeing family, enjoying time to relax and get some needed sleep, sort of.  That’s a whole different story, I will not get into the details here.  I’ve been doing my best to get some needed R&R, which of course takes into account knitting.  Something that came with this holiday season is me finishing my B.S., something that I’ve been working on for the past 8 years.  This for me is something, since I figured out 2-3 years in that I didn’t like college, but kept going and now I’m glad that I did.  My degree is going to open up a lot of doors, but that’s not what I’m going to be talking about.  As some of you know I’m a photographer and so is my father, which comes with a tradition.  When someone on his side of the family graduates, they get a camera.  Even though I told everyone no gifts, my dad upheld this tradition.  My normal camera for digital photography is a Olympus EM-5, which is fantastic, it came with me to the U.K. and it held it’s own.  I am super happy with mine, so I received the updated EM-5 MKII.  Once I have samples of it’s capabilities I’ll show them.  But lets get to the knitting.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I’m working on more then one project which makes me a little on edge, I really enjoy working on only one project.  I can get things done fairly quickly and have lots of finished objects done really easily.  There is just something about having one dedicated project, something to enjoy from start to finish.  I haven’t had that recently, only with the finish of the Longfellow cardigan, which I have worn.  And I wore it to work, because a coworker saw me working on it and asked when it was done that I bring it in.  Even the non knitters were impressed and wanted to feel the sweater.  I was told that’s my new pick up line, “hey feel my sweater, it’s cashmere.”  Anyways, I have been knitting a little bit on the Tamarack cardigan, I really want this to be done for me to be able to wear it.  But I am working on my mom’s sweater, I haven’t touched that for a while.  I’m working on two other things, one I can’t really talk about just yet.  The other is the next Knit-Against that three of us are working on.  It’s a traditional Orenburg lace shawl, maybe you’ve heard of it, 36 daisies.  It’s quite massive with an accompanying massive 20 page chart.  I started it on December 28th, the official start date, but haven’t picked it up since.  I am trying to get a few things done that are a little time sensitive at this point.

Going with the theme of having more time on my hands, I can actually write up patterns and design more.  I haven’t done very much of that lately because of the limited brain power and creativity, but rest assured a big project I’ve been working on will get some more work done on it.  I’m very excited about this and I hope that everything will be done soon, how soon only time will tell.  But lets not get distracted by that, lets just take a look at what I’ve been knitting.  This picture is a little older, but shows off the knitting fairly well.  I’ll have more pictures of it’s current state soon.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

