Tags

, , , , , ,

The title is a little strange but keep reading and I’ll explain.  Taking photos for the blog here, Ravelry, selling items, or whatever else can be a challenge sometimes.  The set up that I have been using for a while now works, only when it’s daylight and certain times of the day.  What I came up with to take my photos as a make shift light box is not the greatest by any stretch of the imagination.  But the fact of the matter is that it works and has worked for a while.  Though it has it’s limitations and I have worked around them.  Right now as I’m writing this, the natural light coming into my space is good.  It would be good enough to take some nice photos, with some touch ups needing to happen, the magic of post production.  After a while this started to wear on me when I wanted to get pictures ready or get some things done before I would relax for the night.  Which I sometimes would get the urge to do after I get home from work, which can be fairly late. By that time there is no natural light and I would have to rely on the electronic light that I have.  Not the best for taking photos, with it’s warm, slightly yellow cast.  A few days ago I had enough and decided it was time to invest in a good light box.  One that I could pack up and set up really easily and didn’t need a whole lot of other things for it.  I had one in mind for the longest time and I bit the bullet on Monday.  Yesterday it arrived and I did some test shots of what I’m going to be talking about here.  My initial impressions is that it is fantastic, exactly what I wanted.

 

That leads me into this blog post, the light at the end of the box.  So now that I have a proper set up and I’m on the border of my Love of Spiders, I thought it only fitting to take a picture of it.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

There are a lot of ends to weave in when I’m done, but I’m not really worried about it.  I’m on the last section of the border right now and I am thrilled to have it done finally.  Not just because I want to show it off and wear it (at some point), but then I have those needles back from a finished object.  The Joji mystery is coming on clue 3 shortly so I will have to play a lot of catch up, but that shouldn’t be too much of a problem.  Another benefit of having this done is that it’s a gauge swatch for something else.  Yes I could have knit and blocked a swatch already and started the new project, but I wanted a real life item made with it to see how it behaves before I start the other.  This way I have a finished object and a large gauge swatch in one.  I think I’ve talked about that before, but I thought it would be good to re-iterate that point.  I’ve also chose what set of 5 colors I will be using, it’s the one without the handspun.  But if all goes well and I really like the design I’m going to make the second option as well, because I think they both are fantastic.  For now I think I’m going to try to get the border done tonight and blocked so it could be hopefully dry for my knitting group tomorrow.  I do need to go through the stash more and get that uploaded.  But now that I have a light box I can do that at any time.  Back to knitting, to the light at the end of the tunnel and the box.

