Tags

, , , ,

When I was blocking my Starting Point I said it was going to be around 96F, I was wrong.  It ended up being 103F here.  If you don’t know me, I don’t do well with heat.  I run warm normally and so having to deal with over 100 degree weather makes me unhappy.  Even more so because I had to lay down a lot of the day to see if I could get my back to be happier with me.  During these hotter months I try not to work on anything that is large and wool related.  I try to do things like shawls, scarves, and knit in materials like silk, silk blends, sometimes a plant fiber here or there.  Sometimes I’ll throw a pair of socks into the mix, just to spice things up.  But the only thing I had active on the needles was my Viajante and it’s wool.  Even though it’s lace weight and it hasn’t gotten to the massive lap status, it was still a bit warm.  Usually during the summer months I’ll also throw some spinning into the mix but I didn’t want to injure myself more by spinning (back might not like me sitting at the wheel).  Weaving was something else that I wanted to do, but I knew it wouldn’t be good for me in the current state that I was in.  Running low on options I knew I needed to get something going and fast.  I have a lot of plans for knitting, mainly wool related knitting but I do have some ideas for some more light weight shawls and scarves that would be good.  But that’s not what I had in mind.  In my mind, this weather screamed silk and silk it was.  I cast on for something I can’t really talk about just yet.  It’s another design, yes I’m teasing you again.  But there will be a big reveal late, I have many plans.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

But my Viajante is making some good progress even though it is a little slow.  I bet I’ll like it when it’s done and when the weather decides to cool down.  Which another reason I don’t like summer is that I don’t have AC at home or in the car.  My car’s AC broke a few years ago and I didn’t want to pay to fix it, so I just roll down the windows.  I have a good ceiling fan at home, but my fan that I used for years died a year or two ago and I still haven’t replaced it.  That’s something that I’m going to need to order and quickly if this weather persists.  Which according to the forecast for the next few days it’s going to be hot.  When I get my own place I’m going to try to get one that has AC and just not run it too crazily.  Even a nice 76 would be preferable to this oven that we are in here.  Today is not much better, sitting at a nice cool 96F.  Even though I probably shouldn’t do any spinning or weaving I’m going to do it.  Since the thought of sitting with wool in the lap or anything of that nature would drive me insane.  So it was time to pull out the spinning wheel and get some fiber off that’s been there for far too long.  I think the reason for that is because I was spinning it so fine, that merino silk blend does that for me.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Now that today is pretty much coming to a close I do have some good progress to report.  I was able to finish the singles from the 50/50 merino/silk completed.  The colors are quite bright which is what I was going for.  I still need to chain ply the yarn so I can preserve the long color runs I was able to get going by not splitting the roving.  I hope it turns out well, I guess we will have to ply and find out.  But I did finally finish all of the plying for some spinion yarn.  If you don’t remember what that is, it’s where a fellow knitting friend buys fiber and yarn.  I get to keep the yarn but then I spin yarn for them.  Which this friend has been very firm they will not spin, but they’ve mentioned that they might actually learn to spin.  So I might not have to spin the other bit of roving, but I still will.  Maybe this handspan will be the breaking point to get them spinning.  What do you think?  I’m going to skein it and wash it up for this Friday.   Please ignore the little messy plying, I had a few breaks that I had to work with.  442 yards approximately of 22 WPI, making it a very nice fingering weight.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

