Tags

, , ,

One of the themes of this year (and let’s be honest, the past few years) for me has been to try and use up my stash. Even though I have bought yarn and supplies (when I started weaving that added in quite a bit of yarn) I have been really making an effort to use what I have. I’ve been working on projects that I have had the yarn for years and just didn’t have “the right time” for it. So now I’m starting to work through what I have and really evaluate what I’m needing or wanting more of. Sweaters is still one that I want more of, as I have destashed some of my sweaters and have less then 5 remaining that I love, cherish, and wear all of the time. So the Slade Cardigan is still going well, I did block everything and it looks like my math is correct and I can continue onto the sleeves. Which I am now around the elbow on the first sleeve, but there was that scare with the missing 8th skein. The replacement skeins came in (yes I bought 2 just in case I needed it, it’s a discontinued color) and I’m still surprised I was able to find it retail. The color match is pretty close for yarn I bought over 10 years apart (I was talking to a friend about where it came from and really realized how long ago it was). So now I can continue with the knitting and I should (hopefully) not run out.

In the same theme, I’m looking at my other craft stashes and trying to decide what to do with them. Some quilt kits I have no longer interest me, I mean I like the quilt and all, but I just don’t see myself making it in the next few years. So they went off to new homes. And then I got to my sewing stash, which I have had grand plans for, ever since I started sewing. Then I had the great idea of, well I’m going on a trip at the end of this month, why not sew a few things for the trip. Or at the very least 1 or 2 shirts so I have a little more variety in the fabric I can wear. Then I got the idea of instead of just a t shirt or henley why not actually sew some of the button downs I planned on making years ago. So I pulled out the pattern I’ve made once before (that shirt was a decent first attempt) and I got to work getting my current measurements. I looked more carefully at the measurements in the pattern for what I thought would work for me, “average figures”. Well for my size, the height would be much taller than I am. I glanced down at the “larger figures” and compared my measurements, and it to the “average”. Lo and behold the “larger” would probably fit a little better with less adjustments. Only problem is that I only printed the average figures A0 not the larger, so I looked up how much it would cost and how long it would take from the place I like. It would not give me much time to actually make a mock up and then sew the garment without rushing. So I decided to print out the 50 pages (plus 4 for the short sleeve addition) and got to putting the pattern together. I do believe in every craft there is a part of the process we don’t like, this is the one I like the least in sewing, putting the paper pattern together. But facetiming someone while putting it together makes it so much easier.

Now with the pattern assembled and ready, it’s time to pick fabric which I have options. But I chose a nice slightly stripped Japanese fabric I’ve had for a while. It got its ends secured and then into the washer it finally went. I do have some flannel I got at joanns which will be my test garment, especially because I have the buttons for it already. I’m also deciding to not make a muslin test garment but instead I’m going to use my swedish tracing paper that same friend recommended (years ago now). I’ve had it in stash for 5 years but never touched it. So Later today I’ll be tracing out the pattern and seeing if it works. If all goes well I’ll be cutting fabric by the weekend.