Tags

, , , ,

Honestly I can not believe I am already done with the warp, it feels like I just started. But I did have it on the loom and started weaving about a week and a half ago. I pulled off the 10.75 yard warp 2 ish days ago, so maybe it’s been a tiny bit over a week. But that’s pretty good, averaging about a towel a day, though a day or two I didn’t weave much and others I wove a lot. Honestly this is probably my new favorite towel pattern to weave as it is just so fast and they look so good. I think something I might do is a stash clean out of all of my 8/2 cotton later in the year and make a lot of color ways in these towels. Of course I shared that the towels were coming off the loom with my cousin and they were even more excited. Currently they’re all washed and separated, just waiting to have their ends trimmed and hems pressed and sewn. I’m hoping to get to that today so that I can bring some of the towels with me to knit group. 

And I did not forget about the photos, I did take some photos of the scarves that came off the loom in all their beauty. But they are best seen in person, though as I look at them I’m thinking I should shorten the fringe. 

Besides that, there is not a whole lot of updates. I did finish my first tablet weaving and I got hardware to turn some of it into a lanyard and the rest into wrist straps/keychains. I warped up the little inkle loom again and realized about 8″ in that I did not add in border cards, so I’m going to do that after the fact, we will see how that goes. The other loom has been unfolded (I was doing a lot of cleaning the stash room/office last weekend, so I needed to put things where the loom is temporarily. I finally got the brake to work properly, with some help from Schacht. I added on the elastic bands to all 10 treadles just to see if it helped with anything and it’s made things a lot better. They’re normally used for imbalanced weaves on jack looms as they have a tendency to have floating shafts. But with the elastic on, that does not happen and has the added benefit to be able to be treadled more like my other loom (lightly resting my feet on the next treadle in a multi shuttle project, slight overlap in treadle pressing when moving from one shed to the next, etc). Am I actually going to finish this 11 yard warp? Yes. Am I still thinking of replacing this loom with another Louet? Probably. But maybe I’ll wait and see how this project goes first.